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Report Highlights
Adequacy of Fees Charged in PA’s Instant Check System for Gun Purchases

Act 1995-17 requires the LB&FC to assess the adequacy of the $5 fee ($2 instant check fee and $3 sur-
charge fee) charged to conduct a background check when purchasing a firearm in Pennsylvania. This
system, known as PICS (Pennsylvania Instant Check System), can conduct an immediate background
check on individuals who attempt to purchase a firearm, receive a firearm through a transfer, or apply
for a license to carry a firearm. PICS is operated by the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP). We found:

PICS underwent a major system upgrade in »
2104. This upgrade implemented a web-based
option (previously the system was phone-based)
that has eliminated busy signals and allows queu-
ing and various automated and online manage-
ment tools for dealers.

PICS handled 893,054 calls in 2014, 98% of
which were approved during the first call. Of
those approved during the first call, 64% were »
approved through the phone or Web automated
systems and 34% were approved after being
transferred to an operator.

Of the 13,178 calls that were initially denied,
4,345 were challenged, resulting in 1,439 being
reversed. Pennsylvania’s initial denial rate of
1.5% is the same as the national rate.

The $5 instant check fee/surcharge has gener-
ated revenue averaging about 50% of PICS
expenditures. However, firearm fee revenues
have been trending downward in the past 3 fiscal
years (from $3.7M in FY 2012-13 to $2.9M in
FY 2014-15) while PICS expenditures have been
trending upward (from $6.3M in FY 2012-13 to
$6.8M in FY 2014-15). The shortfall is covered
by General Fund appropriations.

Instant Check/Surcharge Fee Revenues Compared to
PICS Expenditures
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Source: Developed by LB&FC staff from information provided by the PA State Police.
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To have fully funded the PICS program in FY
2013-14 and FY 2014-15, the $5 combined in-
stant check/surcharge fee would need to in-
crease to approximately $11.

PA is one of 13 states that use a state agency to
conduct its background checks. These 13 states
are known as Point of Contact (POC) states. In
35 states and territories, the FBI (NICS) performs
the background checks at no cost to the customer.
We found, however, that firearm dealers often
charge additional administrative fees ranging
from $5 to $50 in both POC and non-POC states.

Instant check fees in POC states range from no
fee (in two states) to $25 (Nevada).

PICS has several advantages over having to
rely on the federal system (NICS).

These include:

At any given time, about 1,300 to 1,400 Pro-
tection from Abuse (PFA) orders lack suffi-
cient numeric identifiers (e.g., SS#) to be en-
tered into national data files. These PFAs
can, however, be used in PICS to prevent
firearm purchases.

Federal policy requires firearms to be trans-
ferred after 3 business days if a potential de-
nial situation cannot be resolved. As a POC
state, PA is allowed additional time to re-
search checks that cannot be resolved within
this 3-day period.

PICS has been used to help capture 1,818 (as
of 2014) fugitives attempting to acquire a
firearm. It is unlikely that would have oc-
curred if PA was not a POC state.

The PSP can use PICS to conduct checks for
law enforcement agencies attempting to re-
turn confiscated firearms to ensure the owners
are allowed to possess firearms. NICS cannot
be used for this purpose. The PSP has con-
ducted nearly 6,000 such checks.

In POC states, the decisions regarding who
can possess a firearm are made at the state
level, which many citizens prefer over having
the federal government make these decisions.

For a full copy of the report, call 717-783-1600, e-mail us at info@Ibfc.legis.state.pa.us, or download at http:/Ibfc.legis.state.pa.us.
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